You know what's annoying? Is when I am all ready to write something here on my blog but then the Blogger website is "down". I mean, it's only happened once, so I can't complain really, but I usually have moments where I'm in the mood to write, and when they pass, I don't know when they'll come back. Which is why it sometimes is awhile between my posts. Anyways. Here I am. With a sore knee. Because I had my first experience getting stitches yesterday!
The day started out uneventful. I then decided I would go for a run, which is a novel idea lately, because since the half-marathon, I've certainly slowed down on the whole running thing. So off I went, down the valley floor, where I've run quite a lot during my training, nothing new. I was feeling good, so decided to run further, and at about two miles out, I got to an area of the trail that has been re-arranged naturally with sticks, and when I stepped on one stick, it must have pushed down one side of another stick, thrusting it upwards and straight into my knee, which was still in forward motion since I was running forward. It hurt so bad, and when I looked down, I felt faint when I saw that it ripped it pretty deep and my skin was raw, and then the blood began to pour out. I felt so frustrated - I was miles from town and didn't bring my cell phone with me of course. I felt one against nature, and decided to think rationally, so I took off my long sleeved shirt (thank god I wore layers) and tied it around my knee to stop the bleeding, and then proceeded to limp my way back to town, trying not to re-visualize how gross my knee looked and thinking that my leg would NOT fall off. Gotta love the off-season where I passed no one on my way back on the trail (I was very ready to attack the first person I saw so I could ask for their cell phone to call my sister), so after my long hike back, I stopped at Kelley and Wayne's to see if they thought I was overreacting in thinking I should go to the medical center and get stitches. Sure, I could have decided myself, but I refused to look at the cut in fear that I would vomit, imagining lots of blood and bones sticking out. They concluded stitches would be best so off to the ER we went (which is more like a doctor's office here in this small town) and got it all stitched up. And let me just say, I don't know how I will ever bear children because I was so nervous in the hospital bed. Just for stitches. They numbed my knee (by sticking a needle straight into the cut - that felt great) and scrubbed the area and stitched me up, and last night it was great - numb and painless. This morning is a bit different, as the numbness has worn off and it's stinging, but I feel happy that it's stitched up and safe. Especially since I will be moving all my belongings today - great timing.
So. That's it for now. Time to get finished up packing and moving. But otherwise I will be back soon, most likely after our long drive back to the Bay Area tomorrow and Monday.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
OH NO KRISSY!!!!! That's such a sad story! Yet...I want to see your wound. Take a picture of it!! Post it!!
If you've learned anything from this, I hope it's, "Exercise is bad for you."
Post a Comment