Tuesday, December 30, 2008

pictures of people taking pictures


This photo I took in Macau back when I was traveling has always cracked me up. So serious, people, so serious! And it pops into my memory every time I see people taking tourist photos. It is entertaining to sit at a tourist spot and just watch different people's posing styles - like when seeing tourists at the World Trade Center site in New York who stood solemnly looking directly at the camera while someone took their picture, I'm assuming because it is pretty inappropriate to smile for the camera in front of such a tragic place. But they still were in the picture, as if to prove to all their friends back home that they were in fact there. Anyways, I love watching people and how they set up their subject while taking a tourist photo. There are those who pose crazy, mouths open wide or jumping in the air, as if they are having the best time in their entire life at the very moment the picture is taken, those who smile normally (or sometimes awkwardly, as if the camera has brought out their bug-eyes and their huge, totally unnatural top and bottom teeth smile), or those who just plain stand there. Or, the most entertaining, those who have had plenty of practice in front of the mirror, have memorized their "good side" and their most flattering angle. I get it. If it works, it works.

Anyways, (I AM going somewhere with this) I was reading a photography blog and saw this guy's work of tourists taking photos and loved it. He shows the people who are taking the photos, rather than the subjects, but it is still entertaining to watch the thought that goes into it: the person contorted to get that perfect angle, encouragement from the traveler's friend that the angle is great, the satisfaction that their photo will be SO different from all the others...when in the end it will probably end up in the back of a photo album, or filed online along with all the other millions of shots we take as evidence that we have traveled. That's where mine all are!

Click here to see the photographer's photos.

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

memories of summer


If it's as cold where you are as it is here, then I thought you too might appreciate a photo from the days of sunny, green summer. It was taken with film and only processed a few weeks ago (thanks mom!), but I feel it is a nice reminder of how enjoyable warm weather is. Not to depress you or anything.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

oh christmas tree


The most beautiful xmas tree in the world! Pretty much.

And yes, I was too lazy to tidy up for this picture. Sorry. I did photoshop a big pile of clothes off the bed to make it a little better.

Friday, December 12, 2008

the season has begun


Are you still there? Is anyone still sticking around? Not sure, but here goes. This time I do have a better excuse for not writing because I have been working every day since I've been back in town. Today is my first day off in 9 days. Don't get me wrong - I am not complaining since I did have about a month off, and I prepared myself not to complain because of that. So any complaints that may sneak out, I quickly retract.

And today is a good day as it is my day of revival - I'm going snowboarding. The last, (and only) time I had a snowboard on was 12 years ago. It was my first attempt and it didn't go so well, which is probably why it's been 12 years. But now I have Kelley to teach me, which started yesterday with some mental preparation, visualizing what I will be doing. Which includes falling. Often. That, I am prepared for.

In other exciting news - I got a Christmas tree! Probably the most exciting thing about the week. As many of you know (and have had a good laugh about) I have brought my Christmas tree stand wherever I've moved in the last 5 years, knowing that one day it would be used again. So finally it is! However, the tree I picked out is bigger than the one I had bought with the stand at the time, so in order to make it fit, Kelley and I had to saw at the trunk to make it smaller, but since it was so hard (seriously, while sawing, I was yelling and cursing that it was the worst thing I've done IN MY LIFE), we stopped when the trunk could slide in just at the top, even though it needed more sawing so that the trunk hit the bottom of the stand. So...it wouldn't stand up straight without falling. Which is where a pretty ribbon came into play as it's tied to the tree and connected to my curtain rod to make it stand up straight. Ta da! It works. And then I decorated it, and it looks beautiful! If I do say so myself. I come home at night, turn on the tree lights and stare at it, and it makes me happy. I will take a picture.

What else, what else...work is ok. I will write a different post on that when I have more energy to write about working in the service industry, which is the case at my concierge job. I am not good at that kind of service, I am finding out. But oh well - they are paying me. That's all that matters right now in this economy, right?

Otherwise, it's so snowy and beautiful here. There is supposed to be another storm hitting us tomorrow and lasting until Thursday. I love it. Even if I slip every ten steps and it takes me an extra ten minutes to walk to work, it's well worth it because it makes everything so pretty.

Ok, off to do some more mental preparation for my snowboarding today...see you all later when I'm sore and bruised.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

brrrrr


It's snowing! Or I should say, it's absolutely gorgeous today with blue skies. It dumped snow all day yesterday, so it's beautiful now with the snow everywhere. This is the view from my room off the balcony - which, unfortunately I have to shovel when it snows. Not so much fun.

Saturday, December 6, 2008

high and dry

I'm back in Telluride and I am suggesting that you all buy stock in any sort of moisturizing product. Because I will personally be supporting all lotion and chap stick products for the next few months. It's 9:30am and I've already applied two layers of lotion. And I haven't even been outdoors yet, where it becomes worse.

More to come. It's busy busy busy and when I get a moment to breathe I will write an update.

Sunday, November 23, 2008

sunrising


Here is the view over Maui in the opposite direction of the sun rising this morning. Up at 4am! Fun! It was hard to function and we snuck in a quick nap once we reached the top before the sun rose. And for some reason I am still not tired...yet.

All my photos from the trip (that have passed the editing test and that I am willing to share) are up on Flickr if you want to take a look. I'm leaving tomorrow - so sad. Leaving the tropics, heading to winter.

Friday, November 21, 2008

sunset


There was a fire on Lanai on this night which made it a bit smoky but still beautiful.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

crosswalk to nowhere


I don't know if you know it, but we're on the top of the world here. Or rather, at around 7,000 feet in this photo on my way up the crater. Crazy, right? A big mystery as to what is on the other side of this crosswalk...I'll leave that one up to you.

A special shout out to Leah for having a Canon camera cord! So some more pictures will be coming...

haleakala crater hike


Entering the crater. I made sure to close the gate and appreciate the view.

Monday, November 17, 2008

long time no see

I know! Yeah, I know. I'm sorry. It's been awhile. My excuses are: I'm on vacation, and I don't have my camera cords with me so I can't share any pictures. Does that pass? Can you forgive me? Ok, good. So yes, I can't share any pictures quite yet because I stupidly left the cords that connect my cameras to my computer in Telluride (although I swear I packed them - like, I can see myself doing it and can visualize the moment, but whatever). And to catch up, I will do a quick rundown so as not to bore you:

Drove to Berkeley. Was a super long and desert-y (talking about dirt and ugliness for days, not dessert with chocolate, ice cream etc which would have been MUCH better). Stayed in Barstow which is such a sad place - fast food central. Charlotte hogged the bed.

In Berkeley, went running which was TONS easier at a normal altitude (I could run for days! More or less...). Went running too much and messed up my knee so it is resting. Ate amazing food - went down our checklist of the places to hit - Indian, Zachary's, Whole Foods, Indian again, and...rinse and repeat. Bought clothes. Cheap stuff. It was gratifying. Enjoyed having two dogs around. Witnessed time fly by while really doing nothing. Really, was I there for a whole week and a half?

Flew up to Seattle. Stayed with dad. Went for lovely walks through the forest with him and Ollie the dog. Ate too much good food - including the Webster staple - crab. Drove down to Portland to see Megan and her parents. Loved it! Who wants to move there with me? (FYI, I'm serious - let me know if anyone is interested) Fit a lot into the two days I was down there: ate, had a massage, exercised (twice!), saw a movie so stupid we cried while laughing, checked out the downtown, drove around the inner suburbs, worked on planning the reunion. Then headed back up to Seattle (on a drive where people actually obey the 60 mph speed limit! Amazing!). Went for more walks. Went to Goodwill for starting up my vintage clothes selling and holy cow had the best time ever. Goodwill is my new best friend. Found amazing stuff.

Now I'm in Maui! With the best hosts ever - Leah and Jason. Been beaching, hiking, dogging (aka, playing with Scout, their beautiful golden retriever), swimming in the ocean, basically loving it all. It's so beautiful. Today went on a hike in a crater at 8,000 ft altitude! Crazy! It felt like being back in Telluride. Even the park service entry guy said I should feel at home having come from Colorado.

Anyways, I was thinking last night just how happy I am to have made any decisions I have made which have brought me here. Here, meaning being on vacation and seeing friends and family and being happy. I'm so happy to be able to do this and feel so fortunate since I am loving life at the moment. To think that a year ago I was still very undecided.

Alrighty, more to come I promise. I have been taking a few photos so once I get those on my computer they will be yours to see!

Saturday, October 25, 2008

weekend update

You know what's annoying? Is when I am all ready to write something here on my blog but then the Blogger website is "down". I mean, it's only happened once, so I can't complain really, but I usually have moments where I'm in the mood to write, and when they pass, I don't know when they'll come back. Which is why it sometimes is awhile between my posts. Anyways. Here I am. With a sore knee. Because I had my first experience getting stitches yesterday!

The day started out uneventful. I then decided I would go for a run, which is a novel idea lately, because since the half-marathon, I've certainly slowed down on the whole running thing. So off I went, down the valley floor, where I've run quite a lot during my training, nothing new. I was feeling good, so decided to run further, and at about two miles out, I got to an area of the trail that has been re-arranged naturally with sticks, and when I stepped on one stick, it must have pushed down one side of another stick, thrusting it upwards and straight into my knee, which was still in forward motion since I was running forward. It hurt so bad, and when I looked down, I felt faint when I saw that it ripped it pretty deep and my skin was raw, and then the blood began to pour out. I felt so frustrated - I was miles from town and didn't bring my cell phone with me of course. I felt one against nature, and decided to think rationally, so I took off my long sleeved shirt (thank god I wore layers) and tied it around my knee to stop the bleeding, and then proceeded to limp my way back to town, trying not to re-visualize how gross my knee looked and thinking that my leg would NOT fall off. Gotta love the off-season where I passed no one on my way back on the trail (I was very ready to attack the first person I saw so I could ask for their cell phone to call my sister), so after my long hike back, I stopped at Kelley and Wayne's to see if they thought I was overreacting in thinking I should go to the medical center and get stitches. Sure, I could have decided myself, but I refused to look at the cut in fear that I would vomit, imagining lots of blood and bones sticking out. They concluded stitches would be best so off to the ER we went (which is more like a doctor's office here in this small town) and got it all stitched up. And let me just say, I don't know how I will ever bear children because I was so nervous in the hospital bed. Just for stitches. They numbed my knee (by sticking a needle straight into the cut - that felt great) and scrubbed the area and stitched me up, and last night it was great - numb and painless. This morning is a bit different, as the numbness has worn off and it's stinging, but I feel happy that it's stitched up and safe. Especially since I will be moving all my belongings today - great timing.

So. That's it for now. Time to get finished up packing and moving. But otherwise I will be back soon, most likely after our long drive back to the Bay Area tomorrow and Monday.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

voting for dummies


I'm doing research on the Colorado amendments for my mail-in ballot, and while learning about amendment 49, I had to laugh at what I saw on their website: as shown above, it writes that "if you’re on the go… Watch the popular, 2-minute sock puppet explanation of 49". Yes, keep it simple with a sock puppet. Because that's how I'd like to learn about important issues.

Friday, October 17, 2008

friday blues. and yellows.


I'm at work right now at the dog store and I'm sick. Bleh. I know, it's not good to work when you are sick, you could be spreading the disease, etc. But what can I do - I'm the only employee and really, it's the American way, isn't it? To work non-stop? I'm just being patriotic.

A few things I'm excited about:

I'm going home! Back to the bay area a week from Sunday. Here I come Indian food, sushi, the dog park...all that good stuff.

I have been playing Minesweeper here at work, which is quite possibly the best game ever. I feel like I'm back in the 80's playing such a basic, silly computer game on a PC. But it's incredibly addicting. It's been a few weeks now that I've been working here at the dog store, and it took me that long to actually win. But I did - about an hour ago. And good lord was it satisfying. Seriously.

The sun's out! Winter hasn't hit with its full force quite yet - I guess it's just been spatters here and there to keep people on their toes. But in the end I guess it doesn't matter since I'm going back to the sunny bay area so soon. Then when I get back it will be winter, for real.

Monday, October 13, 2008

telluride to music

I wanted to share this link of a video of Telluride set to Radiohead that was put together by Variety for the film festival. The footage is really beautiful of the town.

back in the day


Here's one of the slides of my grandparents in Rome.

Going through these old slides has done two things: 1) reinstated my creative side of the brain to start taking photos again, and 2) revived my desire for travel. Since my grandfather was in the military, they lived in quite a few places around the world, and while I don't know if I could handle the constant change and leaving things behind so often, I do want to get back out and start seeing the world again. One of the spots they lived was Hawaii, therefore...check! Doing that one next month. Also they spent a lot of time in Italy, since they lived in Naples for a few years. And just as soon as the euro goes down, then I will hit up that part of the world. I hope. But I can't complain at all, since I'm still planning my trip down to Nicaragua in April. The lovely Anita is going to go with me, and we are going to volunteer with an organization that teaches photography to disadvantaged children. We are thrilled, to say the least.

And it gives me warm weather to look forward to as the chill sets in here in Telluride. There is a bite in the air and while I do enjoy a crisp breeze, I am concerned that it is already this cold in the beginning of October. Right now, I'm in my office wearing my parka because I don't know where the heater is, if there is one. There must be one though. I'll find it if it kills me.

To help with the transition into winter (or to make it more shocking upon my return) we're heading back to the Bay Area in two weeks for the off-season. I can't wait! I'm already making lists of what I want to do and where I want to shop and eat. I'm excited for my long-awaited reunion with places like H&M and Zachary's Pizza. The excitement....

brrrr


I know it's only 8am and it's usually colder in the mornings, but still, this scares me.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

vintage slides


When my dad was here, he brought boxes of old slides that his parents had taken that were stored away collecting dust. Now that I have my scanner, I can put them all online for the family to see, and I'm having a ball. These photos are amazing. It is such a trip to see all these photos from so long ago of these people who never knew what was to come in the future, which is what we are experiencing now. Crazy! There I go talking about time again...which I could go on about for days. But this is fun. There will be many many more (I'm talking 4 cases of them) so it may be a slow process, but I'll be sure to share any highlights as I go along. (this one shown is in Yosemite circa 1959) You can see the first batch on my flickr site in the meantime.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

i'm cold


It's been an eventful week. Dad was in town and pulled in with a kidney stone (timing is amazing sometimes) so he had to spend some of his time here at the beautiful Montrose hospital (sarcasm), but raved about the kind nurses and the generous supply of morphine. He's better, and we spent a lot of the weekend making sure he was ok, not exerting too much energy, drinking enough fluids, and not thinking about the huge apparatus they had put inside of him until it was removed yesterday. Gross. He was a sport, and we were able to enjoy some sights, including all the foliage and the emergence of freezing weather. It's cold! No more flip flops - it's official. Unfortunately. I have spent much time lately shopping for winter weather, which is do-able now that I have a taste of how cold it will be. I'm scared.

A few updates on my life to report:

I'm moving. Within Telluride - don't worry! I don't think I've shared the fact that I haven't slept since I've moved into my current condo because my upstairs roommate's bathroom is directly above me and he wakes up at all hours of the night to go to the bathroom, run the sink, flush the toilet, etc. which creates sounds similar to a running waterfall in my room. Vertical piping is a seriously bad idea - who thought of that one? Honestly. So for my sanity, I have been looking for a new place, and I found one thank goodness. I will have my own studio and it's adorable. It has no shared walls, a balcony, is on the quiet side of town, and has slanted walls which I love for some reason. I will be moving in when I get back to Telluride after the off-season.

Also - I got a job for the winter. I will be working as a concierge part time at the ski club in order to get my free ski pass. There is the potential for tips, which is great, and it should be exciting up in the Mountain Village when the ski runs are open. I'm excited. I'll still be working with the film festival part time, which is ideal with my desire for many part-time jobs rather than one full-time one. Nice. And I will seriously be getting the website up to sell my photos.

And that's about it for the moment. Except for the fact that I'm addicted to Mexican food. That's a new development.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

rainy sundays


It rained today. And actually snowed a little! Fun! Dad's here and we went on a drive up the east end of town and I took photos from the backseat of the car, safe from the rain. And the photos came out kinda cool. Lots of blurry and rainy stuff, which resulted in many pleasant surprises. Especially with all the changing colors of the tree leaves.

Thursday, October 2, 2008

paparazzi, but not


I've been up to my ears in festival photos the past week and thought I'd share one of the more exciting ones, as it shows interesting people. And who doesn't like celebrities? If one would like to call them that. It's David Fincher on the left, director of Seven, Panic Room, the upcoming Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and interestingly (as I just found out on IMDB), many of Madonna's vintage music videos, such as Vogue, Oh Father and Express Yourself. I like him even more now. Jean Simmons in the middle - screen legend and amazing lady. And Jeff Goldblum, famous (at least in my eyes) from the bathroom scene in Jurassic Park, one of my favorites - Igby Goes Down, and The Fly - creepiest movie ever. Greg Kinnear is three people to the left, but it was too difficult for me at the time to get them all in. Sorry. You'll have to see my other photos to see him. Although you probably already know what he looks like.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

the town is on fire


How beautiful is this? I went on a hike yesterday morning and brought my camera so I could get shots of the foliage. There are more on my flickr site if you want to take a look. It's so gorgeous. I'll be taking some more this week before it all dies and turns depressing.

Monday, September 29, 2008

running on empty


Here's the foliage - but a rather tame image that doesn't reflect how amazing the trees were. The reason being that this was on my drive heading to Aspen and I pulled over at this point in the road because a stupid jerk was on my back through the windy roads (even though I was going over the speed limit already! jeez!) and decided it was a sufficient spot to get a quick picture. So I did. But then about 20 minutes later the trees were so much more dramatic and beautiful, but at that point I was too lazy to stop and just wanted to get there already. So this is what you get, which I think is still nice looking.

As for the weekend - it was so great! Aspen had perfect weather, was a really cute town, and it was great to see Anna and her husband and their friends from Denver who were so nice. It is amazing that I am talking so much praise for the weekend because the half- marathon? Yep, not so much fun. Let me see if I can sum it up for you: first two miles - uphill. Like, a serious uphill hike. Up a ski run. My lungs were burning at the top. I was concerned at that point. The next 6 miles or so - gorgeous. Running flat or slightly downhill through the golden yellow leaves and it was along a hiking trail so you are only surrounded by beautiful nature. Then around mile 10 - a terrible cramp decides to accompany me for awhile and my knee began to feel like it was going to snap in two from running down hills, which I can tell you is not good at all for your knees. I was in pain. From mile 11 to the finish line was what I would describe as pure hell. Running through an ugly field of mini hills that felt like they were as steep as that uphill climb at the beginning even though they were probably just small bumps in the road. I was pathetic and delirious. I didn't know if I was going to be able to run through the finish line. But with Anna's encouragement, I ran/hobbled my way through to the end. I am so glad it was such a beautiful course because otherwise I would have hated every second of it. Next time - I will remember how important it is to train. Or rather, there will never be a next time. I have been sure to remind myself to never do this again.

But the rest of the weekend was so much fun - we enjoyed the cheaper (read: still expensive but not $40/person) restaurants. Ate at the Nobu there which was delicious. Hung out in the cozy cabin. Relaxed in the hot tub after the run. It was wonderful. Good company and good scenery. I am unfortunately incredibly sore so I am limping around town today, but with a plan for ambitious stretching, I have faith I will recover. And my 11 hours of sleep last night helped in the recovery process.

And I should have a few more photos in a few weeks - I actually took one of the guy's small cameras on the run with me and snapped some of the shots so I'm waiting to get them so I can share it with you. So stay tuned for that.

Thursday, September 25, 2008

milestone


It's my 100th post! I guess that's not too exciting, but also, I guess it sorta is. Again, I've got no new photos for you - this is from the festival - but I will after this weekend and my trip to Aspen. For all the north-easterners, I bet you thought you were in the fall foliage capital, but you may not know that the leaves are changing dramatically here as well and many have been known to travel here in the fall to experience it. So I promise to take my camera out after it's post-festival hiatus and capture the colors. It's so pretty.

On another note, please please think good thoughts for me on Saturday morning that I am surviving the half-marathon. I have pretty much given up on training. I did a few hikes in the last week, but that's it really. Once this is done, no more running for me for awhile. I'm gonna stick with hiking. I don't move fast anymore since I'm living in a town where the maximum speed limit is 15mph, and I'm quite happy that way. Lesson learned.

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

dog almighty

So last week I trained for the dog store, and today was my first day working there by myself. And I quite surprised myself when I actually sounded knowledgeable and answered people's questions about their dogs and the things we sell. I have the advantage of being an aunty to my sister's labradoodle Charlotte, and I didn't realize how much I'd learned from watching how they take care of her. I recommended leashes! I talked about dog experiences! I knew what a flossie was! I loved it. Granted, it's not the busiest store in town, so things do get slow, but at that point I either stare at the walls, read my magazines, or browse the dog accessory collection. It's great. I have been meeting some really nice dogs and people, and I think it's just so sweet how so many owners care so much about their dogs and spoil them silly (well-deserved, of course). It's wonderful how dogs have become like humans. Because they seem to be, in many ways, better than people. Or at least nicer. And happier to see me.

On a different note - I have tons of Larabars since they sponsored the film festival and donated a lot, and I have to recommend the Coconut Cream Pie bar. I just ate it and it was delicious. Buy it.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

back again


I apologize for my absence, and I apologize that upon return from my absence I have supplied only this boring photo of the computers that were in the hospitality tent at the festival. That's the extent of the excitement in my photos at the moment. But on the other hand it's been an action packed few weeks so I'll catch you up in bullet point form:

-had Halyn in town visiting for a week - which was amazing to have someone from out of town in town to hang out with!

-we went to Blues and Brews, the festival every year with great blues bands (they were pretty much all amazing) and beer brewers where you could taste all sorts of beers over a 3 day weekend.

-I cannot drink beer again for many weeks.

-I am still bloated.

-I got two new jobs since my film fest job has shorter hours now - hostessing at a sushi restaurant and then filling in at the dog store where I have already met an 8-week old puppy! I think this job may be perfect.

-I booked my off-season flights! I'm heading home around Halloween, then up to Seattle to visit my dad, then to Hawaii to visit Leah (and get tan), and then back to Berkeley where I'll have Thanksgiving and my 10 year high school reunion. Then back to Telluride the 3rd of December. God bless off-seasons. I think I can get used to this.

-the half-marathon is next weekend!! Yikes.

And that may just be it! I promise I won't disappear again like that.

Monday, September 8, 2008

the tragic state of real estate

Well well well. This is the post I've been speaking of for awhile now. I find the time appropriate to talk about the dire real estate situation here since I watched a DVD last night about the destruction (in terms of over-development) of mountain towns like Vail and Aspen, which are turning into lifeless towns that serve as retreats for second home-owners who have priced out all of the people give actual life to the town. It really was a sad film, and it's sadder to think that this may be happening as we speak here in Telluride.

Take a look at the photos above and the homes you see there. The four on the left? Those are what you can buy for anywhere between $1.4 million and $1.7 million. No really. And the house on the right? That one is $1.25 million. But if you look closely, you will see that it is a wreck. Rumor has it that the floor inside is the same as the ground outside - dirt and rocks. It's been around for ages and appears to be almost un-inhabitable. But look how considerate the realtor is who listed this home - to the right, they have included their recommendation of what to do once someone purchases it - tear it down and build that model! Why of course - buy something for $1.25 and then pay for the tear down and re-construction! What a deal. I find it so offensive that almost 90% of the already overpriced listings explain how these homes should be seen as development potential - they can be torn down and rebuilt, they can be renovated then resold, etc etc. What has happened is that there are now multi-million dollar homes, hovering around the $6-7 million mark, with bowling alleys, home theaters, indoor hot tubs, etc. Over the top, unnecessary extravagance. And the irony is that this extravagance is being built by and for people who spend maybe a month total out of the year here. The rest of the time the homes are empty. The town is pitch black at night since no one is home.

Sure, you could say, what's the big deal? It's just like New York. It's so expensive there, but that's just the way it is. Well, yes. That is true. However in New York, there is income opportunity. There are too many companies to count where one can build up quite a large income and make enough money to afford the rent or mortgage. However, Telluride is a town where people work mainly in the service industry and most likely make minimum wage or a bit more, and the people who are lucky enough to have year-round, full time jobs often struggle to find customers and clients as people are mostly in and out here - for festivals or for skiing or just for vacation. Those who have retail stores have to pay exorbitant amounts in rent (those prices have skyrocketed too) and have sporadic customers who come in and hopefully buy enough to pay the rent. It's tough to make a living here, and unless you come from a wealthy family or have won the lottery, there is no way you are making enough money to afford a multi-million dollar home. It is so sad that there is no actual home in town - with no shared walls, with a yard, etc - for less than $925,000.

Also troubling is the fact that the market is slow. It's slow in the U.S. and there is no difference here, but these people keep their homes on the market for these ridiculous prices, not budging. It seems very rare that they drop their prices, so these homes sit there, empty and overpriced for many many months. The second home-owners with their homes for sale have no motivation to drop the price - they'll wait until they get the price they want - because they've paid cash for their place and aren't losing anything by leaving it there and they want to make their million. Which as you can imagine, takes even more away from the town.

People argue that you can live down valley, outside of town, for a much cheaper price. However, these "towns" don't have stores, they don't have anything really besides homes, so if you do live outside town, you have to drive windy roads to get to Telluride to do pretty much everything, from buying your milk to doing your job. Factor in the winter when roads are treacherous and you are adding on more travel time and risky, dangerous driving.

It appears that things are so transient here because of it - the people who love it here and are true locals can't stay because they can't afford to be here. No matter how hard they work, they could never buy a home here. I'm waiting for the day when they have no one here to service these rich second-homeowners because no one can stay. Maybe they will put up a stink then when there is no one here to make their latte.

Can you tell I feel very strongly about this? Sigh.

r&r


I went on what I will conclude has been the prettiest hike I've been on here (although the view at the top of Jud Wiebe for sure takes the cake). My co-worker and I went to Hope Lake - a hike that takes you through pine trees, over streams, up a hill, through a valley, and then to a beautiful lake that has crystal blue water. It was like finding a treasure when we came across the lake. And the weather has been absolutely perfect this past week. It's been a nice balance to the hectic week I had previously. Much needed.

Things have been super calm. My festival work has drained to almost nothing, I am back to 3 days/week, and I've finally cleaned my room, bought groceries, all those super exciting things that didn't get done in the past few weeks. Breathing in....and out...

Half marathon training is back on but terrible. Terrible in the sense that my previous training has worn off and it feels like I'm almost starting from scratch. But I'm going to do it if it kills me. Yes sir, I will.

Also in more exciting news, at my sushi dinner a few weeks back, I got the best fortune ever in my fortune cookie: it says "An enjoyable vacation is awaiting you". It thrilled me to no end, and then I took it on as a challenge. A challenge I am thoroughly enjoying. Over November, during the off-season, I'm going to go to Hawaii! To visit the Moensi! Purely to be a guest of honor on their blog. And to see their dog Scout. And of course also to see Leah and Jason. Oh and to get tan. Did I mention that? I'm so excited. I'll also head up to Seattle to visit my dad and see his dog Ollie. I think I subconsciously plan my vacations based on dogs. Which makes total sense.

This was a very boring blog post so I apologize. Just stating the facts. Reporting the news. Updating the stats. That is all.

Friday, September 5, 2008

and then there were none


Well I have been waiting for this week for awhile now, where I could say that this festival was all over. So I am breathing a big (massive, rather) sigh of relief. It was stressful even before day one, so that was not a good sign and caused me much paranoia and grief, but in the end looking back on things, it wasn't so bad. Hahaha I always say that when things are over. Bring me back to a week ago and I would never have imagined that those words would come out of my mouth.

So for my wrap-up, I will give a synopsis of my time, the movies I had time to see, and the food I ate (delicious stuff).

Basically from day one, my duties were to take photos of setup of the events (to document the sponsorship fulfillment and to show potential sponsors), work some of the events, and take photos of the ambiance of the festival. Sounds not too bad, right? Well, factor in my lack of confidence in my photography, the terrible lighting (enough to make me sick - it's so lame, but there's nothing that makes me want to throw up more than a) taking photos after dark with lots of uneven tungsten lighting or b) when the sun is so bright that it hurts and there are only intense shadows and highlights - ahhh photography kills me sometimes), and my fear of being intrusive when taking pictures, and you have a recipe for disaster. I can't complain - many people would love to be able to do this, and it wasn't the worst thing I've ever done, but I did come to the conclusion that I am not an event/wedding/documentary photographer. I like things I can plan out.

Anyways, the events were really great. Amazing actually. First off was a dinner for the filmmakers at an amazing home in town. (*A side note - I may be referring to money a lot in this post because I have now been surrounded by people who have a lot of it for the past week and still cannot comprehend that people live this way) This home overlooks the town, and if you liked, you could actually sit in the gorgeous hot tub on her back patio and watch the view. Trust me, I was tempted. The mirror in the grand room (ballroom, whatever you want to call it) I am sure costs more than what I would make in, um, two months I would say. The #1 food of the night (that's the best way to do this food wrap-up): peanut butter and chocolate balls. YUM. There I had my first celebrity sighting, Greg Kinnear, and unfortunately all I could think of that he had done was Stuck on You so I wasn't as excited as I would have been if I remembered he was also in GOOD movies, like Little Miss Sunshine. Also in attendance was Laura Linney, Salman Rushdie, and many talented filmmakers who unfortunately get less of the glory than the actors do.

Anyways, I need to keep this moving along...the next day was the brunch at a beautiful ranch, where I again took photos and had the lovely job of greeting all those who came. Fun! Lots of animation on my part: Welcome! Lovely to have you! So glad you could make it! After, my face hurt. There I saw the same people from the night before, plus Tracy Chapman! As in, the soundtrack of my junior high experience! A delight. The day was perfect and the food again, great. Later on that evening was the feed on Main Street, where they block traffic and all passholders can have free food and drink and mingle. This was my favorite event of the weekend. Food of the day? Lasagna.

Then it was time to crash, as I had to take photos at 7am the next morning. Crazy talk, you say? Nope, that's when the students who attend the education program were having a seminar I needed to take pictures for. Bright and early. It was interesting, but early. And thus my exhaustion began that lasted throughout the weekend. It was not helped by the fact that I spent my days running around making sure I got photos of everything. EVERYTHING! Well, not everything. Most things. Next on the agenda that evening was an event at a restaurant which my sister and Wayne and friends got to go to since we needed more people. It's funny to see how quickly people agree to put on some fancy clothes and get ready for something when they hear they will be getting free sushi and cocktails. Impressive. Food of the day - everything there. They have amazing food. And mojitos! That night we watched a free screening in the park of Pirate for the Sea - an amazing movie about an amazing man who does wonderful things for sea animals. He is a hero. Next, time for sleep.

The next day was the longest day in the world, getting up for a pancake breakfast at 7:30am to take photos (but the pancakes were delicious - food of the day), heading out to take more photos throughout the day (can you tell I'm trying to speed this up? I apologize - this is a long one), managing a workshop that took place to make sure everything was set up ok, then heading to an event at another restaurant where I took photos (it was so dark inside! terrible!), and oh no - the night is not over yet, even though at this point it's 7pm. Sleep would have been nice, but It was time to work the door at the big party that everyone tries to sneak into even though there is a strict list of who is allowed to attend. (A side note - I hate stuff like this where there is a list and people get turned away - so uncomfortable. Oh and also, it's raining) So when the event begins at 10pm, people are coming and coming. Oh yes, and coming. I am tired, and I am cold. And my co-workers were nice enough to let me go home early at 11:30. I was so appreciative.

And then the last day! At last! The day when I was panicked that I didn't get all the photos I should have gotten over the weekend and this was my last chance. As in, no possibility for these photos again until next year. The pressure - do you feel it? So I rushed around, became aggressive about asking people to pose and had no shame in shoving my camera in people's faces. Also that day was the Labor Day Picnic which was great, where the food of the day was the sundae bar! Haagen Dazs gave the ice cream and they had all the toppings you wanted. Which in my book, is heaven. Otherwise the food actually stunk for me, because Omaha Steaks sponsored it which meant there was lots of steak. All being grilled by big, burly men, which I found funny. So my lunch consisted of bread, pasta salad and potato salad. My bloated stomach felt wonderful after that. Later that night was the staff party, and sadly enough, I was asleep before it even began. How's that for fun?

As for movies, I didn't get to see any over the weekend but they have been running a few after the festival for those who are still around. I saw Flame and Citron - a Danish film about the Nazi resistance - synopsis: brutal, stressful, interesting, confusing, well-acted, sad. Next film was O'Horten - a Norweigan film about a train engineer who has to fill his time after he retires and gets into some quirky situations - synopsis: cute, slow, charming, with lovely music. Lastly was Gomorrah - an Italian film about the mafia/gangs in Naples - synopsis: BRUTAL, scary, sad (in a way that makes you sad for the world), fascinating, full of guns and violence. All had subtitles, which makes it hard when you want to shield your face from the violence on screen but still need to read what is being said. Try that one. Apparently the big film this year was Slumdog Millionaire, but that one was packed and I didn't get to see it. But you heard it here first. It's coming out in November and wasn't technically part of the program, more a sneak preview before it heads to Toronto this week. Telluride must have some good powers - we got it first.

So. I'm sure I missed 95% of the weekend in this summary, but I think this entry has gone on far too long anyways. If I think of anything good, I'll let you know. Otherwise, PHEW! It's all done.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

festivalities


Here's a sneak peek at a photo I took. I have to say, it might be awhile until I figure out which photos to share since I have hundreds already, and most are boring photos documenting theaters. But have no fear, some will be on their way in the coming weeks.

It's been fun now that the festival has started - taking photos have gotten me into some cool places and gotten me some great food (perks!). But on the other hand, I am exhausted. I had to be somewhere to take photos at 7am this morning, and I woke up at 3:30am, convinced that I'd slept through my alarm, then stayed up stressing about all the photos I need to take and places I need to be over the weekend. Ah, I just love my mind at night. So active. So unnecessarily stressed. So I'm running on empty, and I've got another event I need to work at tonight. Whoopee! Then another 7:30am morning tomorrow! Whoopee! But with free pancakes! Whoopee! And....good night. Nap time perhaps? That sounds sooooo nice. Ok, it looks like I'm delirious so perhaps a coffee is a better idea. I'd better go before I continue to talk more nonsense.

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

and so it begins

It has been a busy busy week, which is going to continue into a busy busy weekend. But I wanted to drop by and say hi very quickly. I think the next post I do after the Festival should be a good one, with some good photos, hopefully some celeb sightings, successful festival stories, and a refreshed, relieved me. I am no fun to talk to at the moment, as I'm nervous, stressed, frustrated, antsy, etc. That is why I have been a bit MIA. I know it will turn into excitement (or at least I hope!) so I am keeping the faith. And it's always good to have an ending date in sight. A light at the end of the tunnel. So, wish me luck, and I will be a better person in 6 days. See ya then.

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

countdown to september 2nd


Why hello! Yes, this is Coney Island, not Telluride. The photos I've been taking are all taken with film, and I have yet to finish the rolls so I have no new visuals. Hence, the year-old photo. I like it though, and I feel that the water is good feng shui for happy times.

A few updates:

Went to Durango over the weekend for a day trip with Kelley and Charlotte. It was cute! The people were cowboy-ish and we were confronted with many, many choices of country music radio stations (the other choice was 90's - apparently the town is about a decade behind), but it was a fun little town. We had happy hour sushi with rolls for $3 each and a beer for $2. I think that's amazing. Especially after being here in Telluride where prices are quadruple that. No exaggeration. They had an amazing natural food store, which made me long for Whole Foods and Trader Joe's again. Not their 20 minute Manhattan lines for checkout, but the food. Ahhh, the food.

In-floor heating. Have you heard of it? If not, I will introduce you to this amazing phenomenon. It is getting cold here at night, and I decided to turn on the heat the other night in my room, thinking that 78 was a good, medium temperature (right?), and I woke up in the morning and my feet were toasty upon hitting the ground! And when I say toasty, I mean hot! The bathroom floor was like fire! But I loved it. It worked so well, I was sweating. Which was gross.

Work is still intense. The thought of half-marathon training stresses me out, with the idea of adding it to my full time, over 8 hours/day of non-stop work, which is apparently going to get longer and more stressful. I was informed today that I should be working on the weekends. When my mom is here this weekend. And when I'm not getting paid for those extra days. Can anyone figure out how that makes sense? It was told to me in a sort of way that seemed like I was being guilted into coming in these extra days, and I'm not falling for it. I'm getting my stuff done, and I'm not there to pick up the pieces for other people slacking throughout the past year. That's the most frustrating part - that there really isn't that much extra to do, but everyone loves to stress out and think they are SOOOO important and busy. But if everyone just got their shit done when they should have, we would all be fine and stress free. So there!

And now I'm tired. So good night.

Friday, August 15, 2008

working 9-5

It's been a week full of work work work. And with work full of people who stress stress stress. I want to lead the world in one big sigh, followed by a repeat-after-me moment of "This really isn't that big of a deal". As I've always liked to remind myself, the world will keep on turning if a mistake is made or if something doesn't go as planned. Really, I promise you, it will. And there's no need to anticipate the worst, because you know what? Often times the worst doesn't end up happening. And then you've stressed yourself out in the meantime. Perhaps I should be a motivational speaker. Or just someone who slaps others in the face to remind them there is more to life than work and stress. I'd be damn good at that.

Anyways, in summation - work is busy. The festival is in two weeks. I'm excited for it to happen, but I'm also excited for September 2nd when it will be over. But in the meantime, I've been meeting some cool people who are in town seasonally for the festival, and I've been feeling more productive in my work, as it's getting down to crunch time. I like to feel like it's all coming together. And I'm also an expert procrastinator. So this is prime time for me.

On another note - I'm resenting this half-marathon. I find it impossible to wake up in the morning to run over 4 miles before I go to work. My body won't cooperate. So I've been slacking. But I have faith (and fingers crossed) that it will go ok. Like I said before, regardless of what happens, the world will keep turning. But I may just end up in the hospital with breathing tubes come September 27th.

Monday, August 11, 2008

stuff. best title ever.

ahhh NY Times. Do I have a story for you. You really should have consulted with me before writing this story on "neighborly competition" that seems to have been a lot more friendly in your article than it was (and still is) in my building. Once it is all complete, I will share the entire story with all of you. Which includes a psuedo-celeb (very pseudo, more of a struggling celeb I would say) and a very irresponsible building management company. Or perhaps I will spare you of the trauma that is certainly more dramatic in my mind that it would be for others.

On other notes:

I've been watching some of the Olympics, and is it weird that I get a little emotional? I am quite possibly the least patriotic person in the United States, but when I saw the Americans making their way around the track at the opening ceremony I felt very proud. Proud of people I don't know. And proud of a country I don't necessarily feel proud of all the time. I was moved. And don't get me started on the national anthem. That melody tears me up every time. Maybe I'm less so patriotic, more so emotional.

I've become a fan of Tori Spelling and her husband, Dean something-or-other. If you watch that show, you will know that they're kind of funny. Maybe just to me? I teared up a bit when watching that show, too, when Donna Martin - whoops I mean Tori - was about to give birth.

Oh my god, I almost forgot to share - I climbed my first mountain over the weekend! Mt. Ajax. Elevation 12,800 feet. Plus or minus a few hundred. It was crazy. So challenging. The worst part though was coming back down. The knees! So bad for the knees! And the next day I had to run six miles for half-marathon training. I probably didn't plan that one very well, but in the end, it's done. And my hips are sore, I have shin splints on the outside of my right shin, and oddly I feel like I have tennis elbow.

Saturday, August 9, 2008

fancy digs


Like my new room? Ha. I would too if this was my room. Unfortunately I'm on a bit more of a budget than this person - as this is one of the penthouses in a hotel here.

We had a hotel disaster with my job since one of the hotels that was housing 16 of the filmmakers and that has been under construction for months is not going to be ready for the festival (they tell us now, three weeks prior. lovely) so we had to scramble to get something as a replacement. So I had to head over to a few hotels to take photos of what they look like so the bigwigs could give their approval. I say, I approve. The places were gorgeous.

But as for my room, it's a bit more modest than this, and as I keep promising, the photos will be up soon. I'm doing heavy duty cleaning and laundry today so it will be spic and span for you to see.

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

august, week one

Been a busy week so I thought I'd do a quick wrap-up, as I'm feeling short-winded and not in the mood for in-depth writing, but I wanted to give an update. (I'm not sure the reason for all the hyphens in that first sentence)


-I sold TWO, count 'em TWO sponsorships. Whoo hoo! And the good news is, that's it - we've reached our cap so I can't sell more! Even if I was good at it and enjoyed it. Which I'm not and I don't.

-I've been watching non-stop Friends, Scrubs and Family Guy. Seems like that's the only consistent entertainment on TV and it makes me happy. TBS may be my new favorite station.

-I ran five miles on Sunday! Quite an accomplishment. I have to wake up at 7am tomorrow morning to do a four mile run, which will be more than just an accomplishment. Waking up that early is one thing (for me), but actually exerting energy at that time is unthinkable.

-Speaking of my runs, I pass the time listening to Spanish podcasts on my Ipod to refresh myself for Central America. It's great - I think (and hope) it's brainwashing me with the language, which is great. I've learned how to discuss a wedding, how to plan for a party and how to talk on the phone. I debate sleeping with my Ipod on so I subconsciously will become fluent - in my sleep! Effortless. It's coming back to me, which is positive. That minor in Spanish at BU is paying off, thank goodness.

-I got a bed! What a difference it makes. I know I keep putting it off, but I swear I'll put up photos soon. Now it will be once I get some stuff on the walls. The place looks terrible in photos without anything on the lonely, white walls.

-The herbs are growing back!

-My Ebay/Etsy obsession is back!


And that's it really. Hasta luego.

Monday, August 4, 2008

breaking ground


First of all, this is not my car, nor is it the car of anyone I know. Don't worry. It was an abandoned truck on our hike the other day, and I thought everyone may be sick of landscape shots so I threw this one in. In fact, it has nothing to do with this post. Just a cracked windshield for your viewing pleasure.

The real news, I may have just sold a sponsorship. This is huge. For me. Being an anti-salesperson with no persuasive skills whatsoever, I may have found a company here that will buy a sponsorship. And not at the lowest level! It only took me about two months. And there has not been confirmation quite yet, just a verbal yes, so keep your fingers crossed until I get the official thumbs up. See - it only took contacting about 100 companies to get ONE! God I hate sales.

Also, in relation to my previous post, last night I resorted to watching Pam Anderson - Girl on the Loose and Sunset Tan. My brain is bleeding.

Sunday, August 3, 2008

tv trauma

And one more thing, can someone please tell me that I should have hope for TV these days? Please advise what to watch. I have found nothing.

MTV seems to now be full of ghetto reality shows. Including something I am watching now about two teenagers who are getting married in Times Square, live (good god why?!), called "Engaged and underaged". It is incredibly awkward because they have their entire families there who should NOT be on TV. No one knows what to say. Not even the hosts, who have questioned their decision to get married a few times. Ah, that just ended and now it looks like Randy Jackson is hosting a dance competition. Quality.

VH1 is also full of ghetto reality shows. Disappointing. I watched Brooke Knows Best. I don't know what to say about that. Hulk Hogan's daughter? Really?

E! truly makes me feel like a sad person when I watch their celebrity news wrap-ups repeatedly. With what I feel are the most annoying hosts (is it just me?). That's all they seem to have. Except for Denise Richards: It's Complicated (great title) and tonight is the premiere of Pam Anderson's show. Whee!

Bravo, my old staple, is even disappointing me, with stuff like Date My Ex, that hair cutting show and Flipping Out. Train wrecks. I'd be quite happy if all they had was Real Housewives (from either coast, I'm not picky) and Project Runway, all the time. Ooh but I do love the Kathy Griffin show. Should I be embarrassed to admit that?

Maybe because it's summer is why it's so bad? I know I could always turn it off but I won't give up hope! I will find something good to watch - if it takes me all my life to cut through all the crap, I will do it! (And if you haven't already concluded, I don't get the HGTV channel, unfortunately, because if I did, this post would not exist)

desert town, colorado


Yesterday Kelley, Charlotte and I went up to Alta Lake which is at the top of the mountain on the other side of the ski runs. On the way up we passed an old ghost town - a deserted mining town from early in the century. It was creepy. So interesting that the town just up and left one day and these old wooden structures were left behind to decay. One of my pictures has a ghost in it! Or else it was that moth that I thought flew out of the frame before I took the shot...but I felt spirits! Anyways, it was a pretty interesting view of old ruins. Perhaps it is kind of like how things will be when our world ends. Which, according to the Field Museum, will be coming up since we are heading into a mass extinction. But keeping postiive.... the hike was so pretty. The flowers were blooming. Charlotte had a ball, especially when she discovered a mystery meat on the trail and inhaled it quickly before Kelley caught her.

In other news, I've been spending the past week settling into my room. I love it. I went to Montrose during the week to get some furniture and to go to my beloved Target. I researched some antique stores in the area so that I could find inexpensive furniture with some sort of history rather than the bland pieces I have been finding online, and when I went, I found a cool wooden desk that will be my work station. I also bought another little night table that requires a stack of coins under one of the legs so it doesn't tip, which is so cute. I'm glad that my collection of foreign currency is coming in handy! The store had wonderful stuff. Got sucked into antique store shopping again. I was thrilled at the idea that I was being "green" and using old furniture rather than buying something made brand new. And then I went to Target and spent about $300. Oh well, I do my best. I've only rearranged my room once, which is a major feat for me, and I love it. I'm feeling settled, and I'm getting a mattress on Tuesday which should complete the room. Then I will take photos to show you guys.

On a side note - if anyone knows anything about trying to revive herbs that may have died, please let me know. I am watching the plants while my roommate is gone this week and I think I have killed his herbs. I'm sick to my stomach about it. It's not my fault though! I think an animal got into them and dug them up, burying a few of them in the dirt. When I found them in the morning they were limp, brown and lifeless. Terrible! Help! Can they re-grow by next week? Please say yes. Please say yes.

Monday, July 28, 2008

another room with a view


Three posts in one day - the thrill! And I am extremely hesitant to post this, since I want to show a photo of the view looking perfect with blue skies and fluffy clouds, but it's been tough these days since it starts raining every day at around 2pm and doesn't stop. Hence the gray sky here. So I've settled and I'm giving you this. It is the area outside my room! Pretty. My roommate is the green thumb and has been working on landscaping the area, and he added the picnic table the other day. Soon to come - a bocce court. I offer to help but I don't know if I'd do any good and I think he knows that. So I watch, hang out with his dog and talk to him about how great it looks, and I think that is help in itself.

volunteerism


I volunteered over the weekend for the art auction they hold annually here in town for the art school. I took photos at the setup and during the event, which was pretty neat. I was able to witness a true auctioneer during the live auction who spoke a mile a minute in what sounded like a lot of mumbling, in addition to the bidders' dollar amounts every couple seconds. Thank god I didn't have money to afford any of this stuff because it looks like it can get quite stressful. Wayne had a painting in the silent auction that sold, and there were lots of other pieces of art, with many, shall I say, on the quirky side. I studied Art History, but I tell you, there is a lot of art I just don't get. But there were bidders, so - to each their own.

photo editing

I just found this post on Jezebel. I had one of those moments, when I am reading something and I feel like they are talking specifically to me. It creeps me out. And then I remember that I am one of many people in this world and it's not all about me. And the selfishness subsides. And I remember that a lot of us feel the same way about things, we just don't realize it.

Therefore, I thought I'd share it here, as I am pretty sure (and I'm talking to the ladies here) that we all feel this way about the dreaded photos of ourselves. We think: that doesn't look like me AT ALL. That really can't be me. What's up with my hair? My eyes look funny. My chin looks huge. My arms look like chicken wings. Large chicken wings. Can you please delete that? Forever? From the hard drive? Thanks.

This explains things like, why there are no photos of me on this blog, why I have so few photo albums on Facebook, and why I awkwardly often pose for photos with my hand on my hip so as not to see the extent of the size of my upper arms (a trick I learned from Ashley - genius!). If only I didn't care about stupid stuff like this, I think I'd be a lot happier. But I doubt that will happen unless I receive a lobotomy and they take out my self-conscious brain cells that I believe got there from years of watching crap like America's Next Top Model and reading fashion magazines. So until then, I will continue to un-tag myself from any unflattering Facebook photos and cower away from those who are taking pictures. It's all in self-defense.

Friday, July 25, 2008

misty water colored memories


I get the Daily Candy travel deals emails. I used to get their New York shopping emails every day but I had to de-activate them because they were getting too obnoxious and pretentious. The day they started to make up their own dialect - that's when it really started to bother me. But I thought that perhaps I would get some decent travel ideas through their travel emails. After receiving a few, I realized that I am in a different income bracket than their readers. I make a little bit less money than them, if you were wondering. But I was reading one today and it brought back wonderful memories because it showed a special for the Orient Express Hotels in Italy, where I was fortunate to go with my mom and sister back in 2004 (jeez louise, AGES ago). The Hotel Splendido in Portofino was like heaven. Truly heaven. I've never lived in such luxury. With my low-maintenance (or so I tell myself) lifestyle, one might think that a place like that would intimidate me, but it was heaven. That's really the only word I can think to describe it. So peaceful, the friendliest staff, trays delivered to our door in the mornings with delicious Italian pastries, pool on the hill overlooking the water...sigh. It brings back such memories to look at these photos from their website. So, if I ever break the bank (doubtful), win the lottery (unlikely) or marry rich (possibly?) I will be back! And if any of you are fortunate enough to afford it, you should go.

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

new digs

I'm in! And I know I say this every time, but the next time I move, I'm paying someone. I did most of it myself, which took a lot of yoga breathing while lifting and acceptance of sweat all over my face at all times. But you know what, it wasn't TOO bad. And I say that now after I'm done. I was cursing everything yesterday - stairs, books (they're so heavy!), etc. Anything over 1 pound was my enemy.

My stuff is still a mild mess because I have to buy furniture - a desk for my new work station and a bed. I'm on my air mattress and it's kind of pitiful.

The good news - I have a TV and cable! The bad news - I don't have a cable cord! So I'm sitting next to a tv that plays only white snow and I had no time today to buy one because it was crazy at work. So I'm sad. But I've adopted Hulu.com for the time being. Tomorrow, the cord will be bought. Or else. I am so clued out of what's going on in the world, it will take some time to catch up. Therefore I will be watching TV for about a week straight.

You know what too? Looking around, I realize my room here is probably bigger than my studio in New York. Plus I've now got a gorgeous living room that looks out at a view over town. It was wonderful to wake up this morning and be able to open my back door out of my room onto the grassy hillside over the town. I'm all about space these days after living in New York City, and this is quite satisfying. Now just gotta get on that tv.

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

movie suggestion #2

I rarely watch movies (I usually have my Netflix movie for about 2 months before watching it, completely defeating the purpose of signing up for the service since that averages me at least $10 per movie, but oh well) so when I see a good one I like to suggest it to others. And while I'm no cinematic authority, I think I have decent taste and I like to recommend movies that really affect me. So here in my blog, I think I'll share with you two or three readers anything I deem worthwhile to watch. Including the movie I saw the other day: Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills. It's a documentary about the trial of three teenagers in West Memphis who are accused of killing three seven-year-old boys. It touches on religion, heavy metal music and crazy southerners (ha - just a joke if any southerners are reading!), and makes you think twice about everything and shows the frustrations of the legal system. It's a pretty well known case, and they have gotten a lot of media attention recently - I won't tell you why because then that would give too much away. Definitely worthwhile renting if you are interested in a documentary - I was riveted for the whole 2 1/2 hours.

And Once! That's still my #1 recommendation.

Monday, July 21, 2008

here comes the sun


I've been gone on a hiatus. I apologize. I had a bit of a mild breakdown over the weekend due to circumstances both within and beyond my control but I have landed on my feet and am now feeling flowery like the photo. As a result of my breakdown, I have made a few changes in my life:

1. I am not buying the apartment here I had originally put an offer on. Due to the lack of professionalism with everyone involved with the deal in New York City, it is still not fully closed. And it's been a headache and a half for me since I've been here. Or heck - really for the last 6 months. Ask me to talk about it and I'll rant for an hour or more, so rather than do that here I will move forward and share the solution (since I try to be an optimist): I am going to go in on a house with my sister and Wayne in the coming months. Sounds weird, but hear me out... To buy a house in this town - and I'm talking no shared walls and your own land - you need to spend over $1 million. Sure, that sounds ok maybe, but when you see these houses that are going for that price, you will laugh your ass off. Pieces of CRAP. Yes, that description deserves capital letters. That will be for another post - describing the real estate situation here. Unbelievable. Anyways, they recently found a real house that is under the radar through our realtor which has two rental units and plenty of space, but it was unfortunately over their budget, but once my money comes in from my New York apartment (again, fingers crossed it's happening soon) they can afford it! It makes me so happy I can contribute, and I then will be owning, managing and renting out the cute unit over the garage and making money from it, since you can make a decent chunk of change doing that in this town with all the vacationers and I can treat it like my own little hotel. Which brings me to....

2. I'm moving into a place with roommates. It all happened very quickly this weekend. I made the decision to save my sanity and pull out of the apartment I was going to buy, opened up the paper to check out housing listings and found one that was the cheapest I had seen since I've been here. I arrived to check it out with skepticism, knowing that places here can be disasters, but this place is amazing. Beautiful views, my own bathroom and outdoor area. Basically it's like living in a studio, since each person has their own space and bathroom, but we share a kitchen. I feel so fortunate to have found it. And I move in tomorrow! Boy does life move quickly.

3. Job changes - well, not changes so much yet, but moving in a new direction. And I won't say anything about that yet because I feel like I will be found out and don't want to jinx anything, but I'm not leaving my job, just adding a new one. Hopefully. That update is TBD.

Goodness that is it! Add on to this drama my half-marathon training which is not getting any easier in this altitude, and a big pimple on my forehead, and that's been my week. So it's a new week (and I had a dream that I was submersed in water which means new beginnings, right??) and I'm taking new steps since, as much as I hate to say it, being as lazy as I am, I am the only one who can change things. Bleh. So here I go.

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

regrets, impulses and figuring out your life

I feel often times that I have already gone through several mid/quarter/one-third-life crises. Sometimes I wonder if I've made reckless, irrational decisions and have done impulsive things that bring me to many what-the-hell-have-I-done-with-myself moments. Trust me, there have been pleeeennty of those in my life. In the past ten years I've lived in too many places to count, been through too many jobs, and I still wonder what I'm going to be and where I'm going to live when I grow up. But you know what? I think it's all worth it. I kinda know it's worth it, but it's hard to say that for sure right now when I still feel like I'm unsettled. But it's articles like this one that make me pretty confident I've made the right decisions in my life. Whenever I find myself in new, uncertain places I always consider the opposite - what if I hadn't done it? And I find that in my life, that option is always worse. I'd rather take a dive into the deep end with a chance of fear and failure than live somewhere waiting for something. Maybe I'm going to end up searching my entire life to feel content with everything in my life, but I feel like that's just the way it's meant to be. I'm just glad that someone (the writer here) is agreeing with me that perhaps I'm not so crazy in the head and I'm doing this all for a reason - to live without any regrets. I'm stumbling along the way, but soon it will be smoooooth sailing.

(Thanks for the article Dad!)

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

impromptu dog sitting


I had a pleasant surprise today. I was running some errands when I got a call from Kelley that she had found a dog in the street and it's owner wasn't home at the address on the tag and they weren't picking up the phone at the number that was listed. Being dog people, we couldn't just let it run free, so since Kelley was heading to an appointment, I was the lucky dog sitter for this guy. His name was Cosmo. I came home and tried to entertain him as best I could. It was a pretty strange scenario that this random dog was in Kelley's place, and we were both equally confused about what was going on. He panted the entire time. I don't know if that meant anything, but I thought it was odd.

In the end we got hold of the owner, who was in Denver and the dog was supposed to be with the caretaker here in town. Oh right, and the dog was in their OTHER house here in town, which is why no one was home at the address listed on the dog's tag. Obviously they are doing quite well to have two homes here. Damn them. So we brought Cosmo back to his home and dropped him off, and he reluctantly said goodbye and watched us leave out the front window. Too cute.

Monday, July 14, 2008

two enthusiastic and passionate thumbs up

I know I'm a little late to this bandwagon, since it came out a few years ago and has already won an Oscar, but I just saw the movie Once and am absolutely in love. I think I can officially call it my favorite movie to date. Such a simple yet beautiful and touching story with such amazing music. I adored it to no end and will recommend to anyone who hasn't seen it to rent it now.

Sunday, July 13, 2008

old timer


My dad gave me an old Nikon that his dad got and used back during the war, and it was built in the early 1950's. How pretty is it? So pretty I thought it worthwhile to use a $5 polaroid sheet with my large format camera to capture it. I won't mention that I ruined a polaroid in the process because the film didn't open when I pulled it which always makes me annoyed and ashamed. But there I went and mentioned it - so now you have the whole story. So anyways, it took some googling to get a copy of the old manual for this camera to figure out how it works. I think I've figured it out and I've got a roll in there to test out if it exposes properly. I will be very old school when I use it since I have to carry around a light meter with me to take any photos since there isn't one built in. I imagine it will be worth the effort though and I will share whatever the results are. (Unless I'm a complete failure with it and then you'll never hear me refer to this camera again)

Saturday, July 12, 2008

not colorado


One would be correct in thinking that this photo does not look like Colorado, since this is in Dalat, Vietnam. Longest hike ever. I think it was something like 15 miles. It's back from my 2007 trip, and I've just scanned my negatives, which is exciting because until now, I've only been able to look at them by holding the slide up and squinting toward the sunlight. I'm still figuring out how to scan well, so I'm not 100% happy with the quality I've been getting with it, but I've got some practice to do. And I hear that reading the manual would help.

So I've got a handful more that I've put up on my flickr site - of our hike in Dalat and the ruins in Cambodia, which makes me overheated just to look at them. Ahh good lord it was hot there. I wonder what all the people we met back in Southeast Asia are up to now. They've probably long forgotten about us. But I love that it only takes a photo to bring back all of the memories. Sigh. Deep thoughts.

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

gossip who?

I try to keep my gossip addiction controlled and under wraps. Note that I deleted the Page Six web link from my bookmarks and I only read Us Weekly when I haven't paid for it, thus I do not technically support it. I cannot stop my Gawker addiction though, as annoying as that website can sometimes be. While perusing the site yesterday for my fix, I came across something that makes my celeb-centric brain cells fill with a glee like no other. It involves Blind Items. I love them. I love to guess who the scandalous stories are about (they never give names, but rather hints). And yes, I know, they quite possibly may not be true (although let's face it, they are). So yesterday's blind item roundup on Gawker included a link to a website where BLIND ITEMS ARE REVEALED! They totally name names! I don't know how they can get away with it, but if it's available, I approve! Check it out.

Monday, July 7, 2008

rainbow bright


Rainbows are pretty common here since it rains often, and last night there were not just one, but TWO rainbows after the storm. The second one you can faintly make out in the photo to the right of the one that is quite clear. So pretty.

Sunday, July 6, 2008

future travels...

It's been kind of rainy the last two days (typical Telluride summers I hear) which I have used as an excuse to stay indoors and plan out my next big trip. I know, I just got here a month ago and had a pretty decent size road trip to get here, but my mind is always active when it comes to this kind of stuff - stuff like travel and vacations; not stuff like work, reading, etc. But hear me out - this one involves what could be qualified as "work".

And let me start out by saying this post is also a proposal for anyone who wants to join me. I would rather not do this by myself. And more accurately, I won't do it by myself, so please come!

A little background: I really want to work on my photography. I would love to travel to take photos of another culture, and I've been wanting to volunteer in another country for years now. After finally putting some serious thought into it, I realized that these two ideas could go hand in hand. I brainstormed and found a great website that lists volunteer organizations in South and Central America where they don't require their volunteers to pay to participate - you just have to pay for accommodation/meals/etc which is so inexpensive there. So I was looking into each of them and found several wonderful organizations where I could volunteer with locals, hopefully get to teach some art classes or anything really, and I could work on a photo project documenting the work I would do and the people with whom I would be working. I think it could be such an amazing and rewarding experience. As for where I want to go, I am tending to focus on programs in Nicaragua. A friend from Australia had traveled there and absolutely loved it. She said the people were amazing, the landscape was beautiful and the vibe was mellow. So I searched on the trusty Flickr website for visuals of the country and found that it seems just that - the culture looks beautiful. And since it's a smaller country off the beaten track, it wouldn't feel like I'm in Disneyland, which sadly tends to happen too often in major tourist destinations. And during my research, I've read more about the countries nearby, like Costa Rica (where I've been before, but I was 16 so I think it's time for a refresher), Guatemala, Belize and Panama, so I decided I can add in some travel time to visit another part of the world I've never seen before. FUN right??

Here's the fatal flaw for most of you (which is where I'll understand if you aren't able to join me): the volunteering will be for at least a month and then I'm hoping to travel for another few weeks after to the surrounding countries. I know, I know. There is that silly thing called "work" that most of you take part in. But if anyone's up for a mid-life crisis and would want to quit their jobs and join me, that would be wonderful. I don't know when this will be - my sister's telling me that I may die in the winter here with the temperature drop and my lack of passion for winter sports, so I may aim for early next year so I can get a taste for the winter here but leave before I get SAD (the seasonal disorder, not the emotion). But who knows. I can tell you though that I am obsessed with researching this trip at the moment and currently have multiple Lonely Planet books opened up next to me, so I'm hoping to make this happen sooner rather than later.

Any takers??

Oh and PS - apparently Tom and Katie are in town! Us Weekly showed them in Telluride for the parade on the 4th, but I sadly missed them. How?! I am disappointed in myself and my celeb sighting skills.

Saturday, July 5, 2008

happy 5th of july


Charlotte says hello.

Friday, July 4, 2008

my claim to fame


Wayne has been in the Plein Air Festival here which has been happening all week long. Artists from all over the country were selected to come to Telluride and paint the town in their own style and then display them at the end of the week for all to enjoy. It's so exciting to see him doing so well and just how much people love his paintings, since we have all loved his work since the beginning, we were just waiting for everyone else to be able to see his talent. He also had an article written about him in the local paper which came out really great - you can read it here.

Anyways, I'll stop tooting his horn. But wanted to share a photo of the exhibition that they held outdoors today that was packed with people. It was so much fun - oldies playing from the speakers, people interested in art talking with the actual artists, a perfect sunny day, dogs dressed up for the 4th, and Wayne sold some of his paintings...all in all a success!

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

i like pink?


This photo is an oldie, from last year's Hong Kong trip, but I felt the visuals needed a change (anyone sick of landscapes yet?), so there you go.

Anyways, I really have nothing much to say. Just wanted to drop a line.

Although I will say that I am rather disturbed by the price of polaroids nowadays. I mean, I know they've always been on the pricey side, but I can't believe that even on ebay you have to shell out about 4 dollars per sheet. I know that the polaroid is coming to an end and all, but I think we should all be able to enjoy the last few months of it. Rich and poor. Big and small. Tall and short. Due to the demise of the beloved polaroid, I will be switching to Fuji instant film, and buying the cheaper, smaller size. I am very thrifty, as most of you know. (case in point: my wardrobe consisting of Old Navy, H&M, and outfits I wore in high school)

There's my rant for the day. Wasn't that fun? I'll be sure to entertain you with more very soon, I am sure.

Oh yes, and happy 4th!!