A few more things about life here that may be interesting, or may not.
But first, a thought from my awesome travel partner, Anita, that I think is genius: For those here, and anywhere really, who think that we, as tourists, may be stupid, inexperienced, out of place, (i.e. the girl in the market who laughed at us (see previous post)), we would like to drop you off in the subway station at Times Square during rush hour and see how you do. Good luck with that. Let's talk again after, when you've figured that one out. Thanks.
I'm still not understanding anyone here, but I've begun to blame it on the fact that they don't pronounce there "s" here and that they have a very strong Nicaraguan accent. And then I feel better.
Oh and by the way, many people, including us before we arrived, would think that the men here would be aggressive toward women because of the Latin men stereotype, that they would be hollering at us, whistling, etc. but you would be quite surprised. Most times they don't even look! It's great! We have concluded that it is worse in New York City and Madrid. The worst for sure is Italy, but Nicaragua, not so bad. (That one is for you dad!)
Something odd - we met 5 Dutch people in our first week here. That's a lot right? And last night was the Orange party at the Dutch-owned hotel run by a guy we know here, and there were tons more. For such a small country, this seems strange to me. PS. For an interesting story, check out what happened yesterday for Orange Day in Holland. Crazy and sad stuff.
It's Labor Day here! Happy May Day!
Friday, May 1, 2009
deep thoughts
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment